Continental Steering Committee

The Continental Steering Committee (CSC) supports the EOA Initiative in meeting its objectives by:

  • Acting as a bridge between the EOA Secretariat and the African Union Commission
  • Providing advice, guidance, and oversight over the implementation of the EOA Action Plan
  • Tracking progress of EOA projects

Continental SC Membership

The SC consists of 23 members appointed to serve on behalf of their institutions, and not as individuals, and agree to represent the general interests of their sector.

  • African Union Commission (1) – Department of Rural Economy and Agriculture (DREA) (Chair)
  • Regional Economic Communities (2) – these two positions will be filled initially by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) – and then regularly rotated to include other RECs, as requested.
  • Farmer-based Organizations (1) – To be regularly rotated to include other regional farmers’ organizations. For now Farmers Organization of Southern Africa (SACAU) has the membership
  • NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency (1)
  • Civil Society Organizations (1) – Action Aid is to be contacted to provide a representative from their network.
  • EOA Lead Organizations for donor-funded projects (2) – Biovision Africa Trust and PELUM Kenya
  • African Research Institutions (1) – FARA can be asked to sit in for the first three years
  • Private sector (1) – A representative is to be provided by Mr. Komla Bissi of AUC
  • African Organic Network (AFRONET) (1)
  • African Academic Institutions (1) – Association of African Universities (AAU) shall be contacted to provide an academic institution to serve on the committee
  • EOA Regional Clusters (5) – for East Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, North Africa, and South Africa
  • Development Partners (2) – SDC and SSNC
  • An Indigenous African Organic Certification Body (1) – UGOCERT
  • International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements (IFOAM) (1)
  • Representative of Women in Organic Agriculture (1)
  • National Ecological Organic Agriculture Institutions in Africa (2) – National Organic Agricultural Movement of Uganda (NOGAMU), and Association of Organic Agriculture Practitioners of Nigeria (NOAN)